What Is “Whole Grain”?

We are supposed to eat at least three one-ounce servings of whole grains daily because they help reduce the risk of heart disease and cancer. But what are whole grains? Labels can be so misleading and confusing. Here’s the federal government official definition of whole-grain foods. The government says that whole-grain foods should contain the three key parts of cereal grains: the bran (which is the outer part of the kernel), the endosperm (the inner part), and the germ (the actual heart of the grain kernel). Here are the products that qualify as whole grains: oatmeal, popcorn, shredded wheat, brown rice, barley, buckwheat, bulgur, wild rice, whole wheat, whole rye, amaranth, and quinoa.

So now we know.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s